CFP: 15th National Communication Ethics Conference

15th National Communication Ethics Conference
Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies
Duquesne University – Pittsburgh, PA
June 6–8, 2018

The 15th National Communication Ethics Conference will be held June 6–8, 2018 (Wednesday through Friday), at the Duquesne University Power Center in Pittsburgh, PA—sponsored by the Department of Communication & Rhetorical Studies and the Communication Ethics Institute.

The theme for this year’s conference centers on Communication Ethics in an Age of Dispute with keynote speakers addressing four content areas: (1) Communication Ethics and Argument, (2) Communication Ethics and Semiotics, (3) Communication Ethics and Communities of Practice, and (4) Communication Ethics and Crisis. As always, we welcome papers both consistent with and outside of the above communication ethics content themes.

The conference features an invited speaker for each are:
• Kenneth Anderson, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: Communication Ethics and Argument
• Susan Petrilli, University of Bari: Communication Ethics and Semiotics
• Patrick Lee Plaisance, The Pennsylvania State University at University Park: Communication Ethics and Communities of Practice
• Maria del Guadalupe Davidson, University of Oklahoma: Communication Ethics and Crisis
Speaker biographies are available on the website (

Papers: We invite abstracts of 200–500 words or completed papers of a maximum of 30 pages, including references. Submissions should be double-spaced, using MLA, APA, or Chicago citation styles.

Panel Proposals: Panel proposals may include up to five participants. Please include a title page with a 500-word (maximum) rationale and a 200-word abstract for each presentation.

Send all submissions to by May 1, 2018.

Fees for conference registration include two evening receptions with hors d’oeuvres, Thursday lunch, and Friday full breakfast buffet.
• Faculty—$200.00
• Student—$100.00

For more information and ongoing updates on the conference, please visit our website ( or contact the conference directors (Ronald C. Arnett, Janie Harden Fritz, or Inci Ozum Sayrak) or graduate student coordinators (Susan Mancino, Austin Hestdalen, or Father Lazarus Langbiir) at:
Phone: 412-396-6446

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *