Third CFP: «Anticipation and Change» The 11th conference of the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies

Third CFP: «Anticipation and Change» The 11th conference of the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies

«Anticipation and Change»

The 11th conference of the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies

Third Call for Papers

 Stavanger, Norway, June 13–15th 2019

Venue: Department of social studies, University of Stavanger

Download Call for Paper PDF: Third call for papers NASS XI

The 11th conference of the Nordic Association for Semiotic Studies (NASS XI) will be hosted by University of Stavanger (UiS) and is co-sponsored by Department of social studies (UiS) and «The Greenhouse: An environmental humanities initiative at University of Stavanger»


The overall theme of NASS XI is «Anticipation and change». Relevant topics include – but are not limited to – the semiotics of child development and human development in general, social change, cultural change, environmental change, ontogeny, and evolution. The anticipatory aspect implies that future studies and the power of imagination are also relevant topics, as are, potentially, learning and perception, expectation and prediction, foresight and preconception. We welcome abstract proposals that approach these topics from a semiotic perspective and encourage interdisciplinary relations between semiotics and other disciplines.

Keynote speakers:

Ingvil Hellstrand (Network for gender research, University of Stavanger): «Brave new world? Dystopia and social change in contemporary science fiction»

Jon Kvist (Institute of Society and Globalization, Roskilde School of Governance, Roskilde University): «Recent welfare reforms: Development or dismantlement of the Nordic welfare model?»

Jaan Valsiner (Department of Communication and Psychology, Aalborg University): «The little big sign-makers: What can be learned from children for general theory of sign mediation?»

Nora Bateson (filmmaker, writer and educator, President of the International Bateson Institute): «Unnamed senses, unscripted ethics, wide angle attention.»


Abstract submission

Abstracts should be submitted as a Word file attachment to, with subject line ”Abstract for NASS XI”. In order to be considered for the graduate student award and grants (see below), please indicate whether or not you are a graduate student. If you are interested in organizing a thematic session involving several presentations, please contact the conference organizers (same email address as above).

Each abstract submission should contain: (1) The name of the author(s) (surname, given name); (2) Your affiliation (including country of residence); (3) Your email address; (4) The title of the paper; (5) An abstract of max. 500 words; (6) 3–5 keywords; (7) and a short bionote of max. 100 words.

Deadline for abstract submission is December 10th, 2018. Notification of acceptance will be given by January 31st, 2019.

Registration and conference fee

Registration for NASS XI will require payment of a conference fee (early bird 1000 NOK, late registration 1250 NOK) which entitles conference participants to attendance, coffee breaks and a daily lunch, and program booklet. The conference fee includes fee for NASS membership for the period 2019–2021 (250 NOK).

Early bird registration deadline is March 15th, 2019. Final registration deadline is April 30th, 2019.

Graduate student award and grants

5-10 graduate students presenting a paper at NASS XI will be supported financially by NASS, with a grant of 200 Euro each.

Furthermore, a prize will be awarded for the best graduate student presentation at NASS XI. The prize consists of a gift card worth 300 Euro, and a diploma.

Publication of selected papers

A special issue of Sign Systems Studies, “Anticipation and change”, will be published with selected papers from NASS XI. More info about the journal here:

Local organizing team

Morten Tønnessen (conference chair), Daria Segal (conference secretary)

Scientific committee (abstract evaluation)

Søren Brier (Copenhagen Business School), Luis Emilio Bruni (Aalborg University), Sara Lenninger (Kristianstad University), Juha Ojala (University of Oulu), Alin Olteanu (Kaunas University of Technology/University of Tartu), Tiit Remm (University of Tartu), Inesa Sahakyan (Université Grenoble Alpes), Aleksei Semenenko (Umeå University), Morten Tønnessen (University of Stavanger)

For more information, contact or visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *