2nd Call for the Second Conference of the Interantional Association for Cognitive Semiotics

2nd Call for the Second Conference of the Interantional Association for Cognitive Semiotics

Second Call for Papers

The Second Conference of the International Association for Cognitive Semiotics (IACS)

June 20-22, 2016
Maria Curie-Sklodowska University, Lublin, Poland


iacs2016 _2cfp

Important dates:

1. Deadline for submission proposals of theme sessions: 30 Nov 2015
2. Deadline for abstract submission (oral presentations, posters): 10 Jan 2016
3. Notification of acceptance (oral presentations, posters): 29 Feb 2016
4. Last date for early registration: 15 Apr 2016

 Invited plenary speakers:

* Eva Jablonka, Tel Aviv University

* Simon Kirby, University of Edinburgh

* Bruce McConachie, University of Pittsburgh

* Esther Pascual, Zhejiang University

* Maxine Sheets-Johnstone, University of Oregon

* Frederik Stjernfelt, University of Copenhagen

 Cognitive Semiotics as a field of study deals with questions concerning the nature of meaning as well as the role of consciousness, the unique cognitive features of human beings, the interaction of nature and nurture in development, and the interplay of biological and cultural evolution in phylogeny. To answer these questions CS integrates methods and theories developed in the human and social sciences as well as cognitive sciences. The International Association for Cognitive Semiotics (IACS, founded 2013) aims at the establishment of Cognitive Semiotics as the trans-disciplinary study of meaning.


Topics of the conference include (but are not limited to):

* Evolutionary perspectives on altruism

* Experimental semiotics

* Iconicity in language and other semiotic resources

* Intersubjectivity and mimesis in evolution and development

* Biological and cultural evolution of human cognitive specificity

* Multimodality

* Narrativity across different media

* Semantic typology and linguistic relativity

* Semiosis (sense-making) in social interaction

* Semiotic and cognitive development inchildre

* Cognitive linguistics and phenomenology

* Communication across cultural barriers

* Cross-species comparative semiotics

* Sign use and cognition

* Signs, affordances and other meanings

* Speech and gesture

* The comparative semiotics of iconicity and indexicality

* The evolution of language

 We invite abstract submissions for theme sessions, oral presentations and posters (please clearly indicate your chosen format with your submission)

Submission guidelines and formats:

 * Theme sessions (deadline: 30 Nov 2015)

– a submission should include: session title, name and affiliation of symposium convener, an introduction of up to 400 words explaining the theme, all symposium abstracts, in suitable order.

– a theme session may consist of 3-5 papers (90-150 min.), allowing time for general discussion. Papers in each theme session should be thematically linked.

Theme session proposers should indicate whether, if a session is not accepted as a whole, they wish the individual abstracts to be considered as individual presentations (oral or poster)


* Oral presentations (deadline: 10 Jan 2016)

– a submission should include: title, name, affiliation, 400 word abstract – 20 min presentation followed by 7 minute discussion


* Posters (deadline: 10 Jan 2016)

– a submission should include: title, name, affiliation, 100 word abstract

– 1 minute oral presentation in the main lecture hall, preceding the poster session

Abstracts should be submitted as .odt , .doc or .docx attachments using EasyChair:


In order to submit an abstract you need to use your existing EasyChair account or register using the link above. Detailed instructions can be found on the IACS 2016 conference website:http://iacs2016.umcs.lublin.pl


In the case of questions or doubts do not hesitate to contact the Organizers: iacs2016@bacon.umcs.lublin.pl


Organizing Committees:


Ines Adornetti, Roma Tre University

Piotr Konderak, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University in Lublin

Todd Oakley, Case Western Reserve University

Joáo Queiroz, Federal University of Juiz de Fora

Monica Tamariz, University of Edinburgh

Krystian Tylen, Aarhus University

Goran Sonesson, Lund University

Jordan Zlatev, Lund University


Piotr Giza, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University

Piotr Konderak, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University

Marcin Krawczyk, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University

Monika Malmon, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *